Governing Council

The school’s voluntary board, the Governing Council, meets three times a year to oversee the management of the school. Current Governing Council members are:

Governing Council members at the official opening of the energy hub
  • Andrew Foose
  • Ashley Green Thompson
  • Bongani Mamba
  • Catherine Hunter
  • Dr. Nhlanhla Msomi
  • Mark Mills (Chair)
  • Jama Gulaid
  • Lindiwe Zwane-Churchyard
  • Mfundo Mohammed (Vice Chair)
  • Pierre Bide
  • Robert Creighton
  • Sibongile Gumbi
  • Sandile Hlophe
  • Patricia Angoy (Principal)
  • Sarah Jane Thomson
  • Tineyi Mawocha
  • Vanessa Merckel

Invited Members

  • Elizabeth Mhangami (Director: Advancement Office)
  • Donovan King (Deputy Principal: Pastoral)
  • Joanne De Koning (Deputy Principal: Academic)
  • Mbongeni Mkoko (Bursar)
  • Tracey Stewart (PA to Principal)
  • Two representatives from the Student Representative Council
  • Two Staff representatives
  • Two representatives of the Parent-Staff Association

Central Management Group

The Central Management Group (CMG) is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the school. It meets on weekly basis to take operational decisions and ensure smooth implementation of the school’s programme. Members of CMG are:

  • Elizabeth Mhangami – Director: Advancement Office
  • Donovan King – Deputy Principal (Pastoral)
  • Joanne de Koning – Deputy Principal (Academic)
  • John Storer – Director of Admissions and University Advisor
  • Patricia Angoy – Principal
  • Fiona Mills - Director of Community Service
  • Polycarp Wekesa – Director of Residences
  • Lucinda Bride – Staff Representative


The Parent and Staff Association (PSA), is governed by the Constitution of the PSA and comprises of all parents having students at Waterford-Kamhlaba United World College of Southern Africa. The term “parents” includes natural or legal guardians, foster parents or step-parents of students at the College. These are referred to as ‘Parent Members’. The Principal and permanent members of staff of the school, referred to as ‘Staff Members’ also form part of the PSA. The PSA Committee consists of 23 members who meet monthly at the school or virtually, on the first Monday of every academic month. A detailed copy of the PSA Constitution can be made available on request to the Chairperson.

  • To act as a supporting and advisory body to the Principal and the College
  • To foster communication between the College and the parents.
  • To raise funds and encourage sponsorship for the College and its various projects to support students and staff to enhance their learning and school experience, and
  • To uphold the UWC core values

The PSA has a number of sub-committees, comprising of PSA representatives and management /staff members, who are actively involved to ensure continued school support and overall wellness of all at WK. The committees are:

LINK FAMILIES: To foster a home-away-from-home environment for students by pairing them with local families. Successfully running for many years and led to life-long bonds even beyond time at WK and international borders.

ASINAKEKELANE: Safeguarding program focusing on gender education in light of addressing Gender Based Violence (GBV).

EVENTS: To fundraise and support the school events that need PSA funding such as Annual Golf Day, Kamhlaba Day and the Biannual 24 Hour run.

FOOD: To evaluate and guide nutritional value of meals served including Tuck Shop. The menu now includes healthier options.

SMALL PROJECTS: To evaluate and co-ordinate requests annual projects, including funding gifts for teachers and support staff, pre-orientation program for non-English speaking students and Help Fund (starter packs).

AD-HOC PROJECTS: To co-ordinate and implement ad hoc projects which support the students, teachers and school.

The PSA derives its funding from fundraising events to support the numerous requests for funding on various school projects. The main fundraising event is the annual PSA Golf Day normally held in October.

Year 2019/20 FUNDRAISING:

PSA EVENT: Parents Meet & Greet Lunch


  • Kamhlaba Day – funding and assisting with activities
  • Nyatsela – funded clothing and organized the welcome home party
  • Bi-Annual 24 Hour Run – participated and assisted with 24-hour cafe
  • Maths Olympiad – assisted with the funding of travel to the prize giving
  • Form 5 and IB2 Graduations – funding for graduations and sourcing of attire


  • Pre-orientation program for non-English speaking students funding
  • Help Fund Starter Packs (Linen & Toiletries) funding
  • Emhlabeni renovations– assisted with funding for renovations


  • World Teachers Day gifts for teachers and staff
  • Yearend gifts for support staff
  • Funding of aerobics Steps for the teachers' wellness program


  • Funding of Waterford Gazebos

Community: Community involvement forms part of the PSA mandate where it plays an active role in being socially aware and responsive to community issues within and outside the school. These include the current COVID-19 pandemic, school entrance testing, hostel management, confidentiality concerns and learner challenges.

Contact: Further communication on PSA activities can be directed to:

The PSA 2021 committee members are:
  • Patricia Angoy (Principal)
  • Donovan King (Vice Principal)
  • Nadja Smoor (Chairperson)
  • Elizabeth Mhangami (Vice Chairperson/WK)
  • Paula Marques (Treasurer)
  • Rosa Van Zuydam (Secretary)
  • Fiona Millin
  • Bridget Farrell
  • Yael Uzan-Tidhar
  • Nadia Joszkowski
  • Nathalie Daries
  • Wendy Green-Thompson
  • Anthony Nxumalo
  • Tapiwa Chilipane(WK)
  • Andreas Schott
  • Rudo Kuwengwa
  • Linda Mrira
  • Tina Foose
  • Khulile Dludlu
  • Vanessa Flora
  • Lindiwe Dlamini (WK)
  • Selwe Mbingo (SRC)
PSA pic 1
PSA pic 2

Student Representative Council

The Student Representative Council (SRC) is the highest level of student governance within the school. Their duties include organising school events, reporting student grievances to the school executive and providing a medium of communication between students and staff. Click here to download the Constitution of the SRC. The current SRC Executives are:

Ezra Narun
Thomas Farrell
Thomas Farrell
Ezra Narun
Lungiselwe Mbingo
Lungiselwe Mbingo

© Waterford Kamhlaba UWCSA 2021

Follow Waterford Kamhlaba United World College Southern Africa - (WKUWCSA) on Linkedin
Follow the Waterford Kamhlaba United World College Southern Africa - (WKUWCSA) page on YouTube
Follow the Waterford Kamhlaba United World College Southern Africa - (WKUWCSA) page on Instagram
Follow @WaterfordUWCSA on Twitter
Follow the Waterford Kamhlaba United World College Southern Africa - (WKUWCSA) page on Facebook

Website designed & hosted by Onswaziline